top of page
  • Writer's pictureTyler Benson

Musings - Practice writing in your target language

You can spend all the time in the world learning grammar, vocabulary, and all the other nuances of your target language, but without practice it won't do you any good. So here I will try writing some things in Irish, because that is the language I am working on most. Fair warning, this is not going to be well written Irish. It will be raw, unedited, and clumsy. However it will be good practice.


Tyler is ainm dom. Tá cónaí in Florida.

Scríobhaim an blag "Tongue Tied: For the Love of Language".

Scríobh mé freisin finscéalaiocht.

Is maith liom leabhair, agus ceol.

Is maith liom teanga a fhoghliam.


That should mean... Hopefully...

My name is Tyler. I live in Florida.

I write the blog "Tongue Tied: For the Love of Language".

I also write fiction.

I like books and music. I like to learn languages.


These kinds of activities are great practice for me, they help me to form a functional knowledge of the language.

If you do this kind of activity, don't be worried about mistakes... You're going to make them. Find someone who speaks the language or knows more than you do and ask them to check it for you. re-write it after that with the corrections.


You're doing awesome. Keep up the good work.

17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page